Click to Home
Go To Search
Click to Home
Email pagePrint page
Election Information
October 2, 2018 Municipal Election
Mayor & Council Members are transitioning to 3-year terms, beginning in 2018.

BACKGROUND: On July 24, 2017, the City Council approved Resolution 2017-041 providing for the submission to the qualified voters of Seward the question (Proposition 1) of electing council members and the mayor to three year terms, with two council seats to be filled each year. Proposition 1 was approved by the voters at the October 3, 2017 election.

NEW CITY CODE: Following the passage of Proposition 1, the City Code was updated to reflect the new terms. 2.10.015. - Election of mayor and council. The mayor shall be elected by direct vote of the qualified electors every third year at the general municipal election held on the first Tuesday of October beginning in 2019, for a term of three years, holding office until that term has expired and a successor is elected and qualified. At the general election there shall also be elected annually two members of the city council, each to serve for a term of three years.

TRANSITION PLAN: In 2018, there will be three council member seats up for election - two seats will be for three year terms, and one seat will be for a two year term. In 2019, there will be three council members seats and the mayor up for election - two council seats will be for three year terms, one council seat will be for a one year term, and the mayor will be for a three year term. In 2020, there will be two council seats up for election - both for three year terms. Thereafter, each term will continue to be for three years.

CANDIDATE FILING FOR 2018: Candidate Packets will be ready for pick up beginning Monday, July 23, 2018. The Candidate Filing Period will be from August 1 - 15, 2018, and candidates will file according to the length of term they wish to fill (either two years or three years).

ELECTION DAY will be Tuesday, October 2, 2018 from 7 am - 8 pm.

Please contact the City Clerk's office with any questions at (907) 224-4046.

City of Seward • P.O. Box 167, 410 Adams Street City Hall Building • Seward, Alaska 99664 • (907) 224-3331
Home Home  |  Email Page Email Page  | Print Page Print  |  Calendar  |  FAQs  |  Contact Us  |  Accessibility  |  Site Map |  Renewable Energy Windpowered | Powered by CivicPlus  | Copyright Notices