Click to Home
Go To Search
Click to Home
Email pagePrint page
About Our Government

Incorporation and Services:  Incorporated in 1912, Seward is a home-rule city located within the Kenai Peninsula Borough, has a population of 2,600 within city limits, and approximately another 3,000 living just outside our city boundaries. Some of the services that our local government provides include: a 24-hour police department, fire department with 30 active volunteers, library, hospital, public works, boat harbor, community development, engineering and building, parks & recreation, youth center, water/wastewater and our own electric utility.  There are approximately 88 year-round employees working for the city government. 

Local government:  The city has a City Manager form of government, with a Mayor and six city council members who exercise all legislative and policy-making powers of the city and performs all duties and obligations imposed upon the city by law.  The City Manager is appointed by the elected 7-person city council, along with a City Attorney and City Clerk.  The city council is elected by the people, serve 2 year terms, and meet every second and fourth Monday of the month in the City Council Chambers on 410 Adams Street at 7:00 p.m.  The meetings must adjourn by 10:30 p.m.

Borough government:  Seward is located within the Kenai Peninsula Borough which was incorporated in 1964 as a second-class borough. An elected Mayor serves as the chief administrator who works with an elected 9-member legislative assembly, of which Seward has one seat on.  The Borough is responsible for area-wide education, solid-waste management, planning and zoning, taxation and assessment.  Local service area boards provide hospital, fire, emergency and recreation services.

Taxation:  The city, along with the state of Alaska has no personal income tax.
Real/personal property tax within the city is at a low 3.12 mils.  
The real/personal property tax outside the city, but within the borough is at 4.5 mils with an additional .5 mils for the Seward/Bear Creek Area Flood Service Board.
The sales tax for Seward is 4%.  The sales tax for the Borough is 3%.
Seward also has a 4% bed tax.

City of Seward • P.O. Box 167, 410 Adams Street City Hall Building • Seward, Alaska 99664 • (907) 224-3331
Home Home  |  Email Page Email Page  | Print Page Print  |  Calendar  |  FAQs  |  Contact Us  |  Accessibility  |  Site Map |  Renewable Energy Windpowered | Powered by CivicPlus  | Copyright Notices