Contact the Seward Police Department's non-emergency phone number (907) 224-3338 to report the accident. Be prepared to provide the following information:
Depending on the circumstances (location, amount of damage, etc) a police officer may respond
- Your name
- Your phone number
- Location of the accident
- The number of vehicles involved (if known)
to take the report and assist you in completing the required paperwork and contact a tow truck if needed.
If an officer does not respond:
- If the total damage was between $501 and $2,000 and there were no injuries you must only fill out and submit a Certificate of Insurance within 15 days of the accident to avoid cancellation of your drivers license due to the mandatory insurance law. You can fill out a Certificate of Insurance form online here, download the form here or get one from the Seward Police Department.
- If the total damage was over $2,000 or if the accident resulted in any injury you must fill out an Alaska Participant Crash Report (PAR) form. You can fill one out online here, download it here or get one from the Seward Police Department. A separate Certificate of Insurance does not need to be completed if you complete an Alaska Participant Crash Report (PAR) form.