Planning & Zoning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Planning and Zoning Commission meets on the first Tuesday of each month.

Work sessions or special meetings are usually scheduled on the third Tuesday of each month. All meetings and records of the Commission are open to the public.

Listen to P&Z Commission Meetings

The Commission is composed of seven volunteer residents appointed by the City Council for staggered terms of three years. All commission members must live within The City of Seward.

The Commission performs the following duties:

  • Interprets the provisions of the Zoning Code and makes compliance determinations when requested by Administration;
  • Reviews and acts upon requests for variance permits, conditional use permits and other matters requiring consideration under the Seward Zoning Code;
  • Reviews the city comprehensive plan on an annual basis, conducts a minimum of one public hearing and forwards recommendations to the Council for consideration;
  • Promotes public interest and understanding of comprehensive planning, platting, zoning, land management and other issues relating to community planning and development;
  • Acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council regarding the Zoning Code, the comprehensive plan, official zoning map, official land use plan map and other duties as requested by the City Council; and
  • Acts in an advisory capacity to the borough planning commission regarding subdivision plat proposals; right-of-way and easement vacation petitions; borough comprehensive plan and coastal zone management plan development, updates and amendments; and city comprehensive plan amendments not otherwise delegated to The City of Seward.

Jackie C. Wilde, Community Development Planner
Staff for P&Z Commission

(907) 224-4048

Commission Members

Cindy Ecklund, Chair (Term Expires 02/2023)
(907) 224-6895

Gary Seese (Term Expires 02/2022)
(907) 224-6826

Tom Swann (Term Expires 02/2022)
(907) 362-3380

Kelli Hatfield (Term Expires 02/2021)
(907) 491-0366

Craig Ambrosiani (Term Expires 02/2022)
(907) 362-3169

Nathaniel Charbonneau (Term Expires 02/2021)
(303) 718-4284

 Liz DeMoss (Term Expires 02/2023)
(907) 491-5035


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer