Click to Home
Go To Search
Click to Home
Email pagePrint page
Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission meets on the first Tuesday of each month.
Work sessions or special meetings are usually scheduled on the third Tuesday of each month. All meetings and records of the Commission are open to the public.
The Commission is composed of seven volunteer residents appointed by the City Council for staggered terms of three years. All commission members must live within The City of Seward. 

The Commission performs the following duties:

  • Interprets the provisions of the Zoning Code and makes compliance determinations when requested by Administration;
  • Reviews and acts upon requests for variance permits, conditional use permits and other matters requiring consideration under the Seward Zoning Code;
  • Reviews the city comprehensive plan on an annual basis, conducts a minimum of one public hearing and forwards recommendations to the Council for consideration;
  • Promotes public interest and understanding of comprehensive planning, platting, zoning, land management and other issues relating to community planning and development;
  • Acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council regarding the Zoning Code, the comprehensive plan, official zoning map, official land use plan map and other duties as requested by the City Council; and
  • Acts in an advisory capacity to the borough planning commission regarding subdivision plat proposals; right-of-way and easement vacation petitions; borough comprehensive plan and coastal zone management plan development, updates and amendments; and city comprehensive plan amendments not otherwise delegated to The City of Seward.

Staff for Planning and Zoning Commission
Jackie C. Wilde, Community Development Planner 

Planning & Zoning Commission Members 

Cindy Ecklund, Chair  Term Expires 02/2020
Phone: 907-224-6895

Martha Fleming, Vice Chair Term Expires 02/2020 Phone: 907-224-9070

Gary Seese Term Expires 02/2019 Phone: 907-224-6826

Tom Swann Term Expires 02/2019 Phone: 907-362-3380

Kelli Hatfield Term Expires 02/2021 Phone: 907-491-0366

Craig Ambrosiani  Term Expires 02/2019
Phone: 907-362-3169

Nathaniel Charbonneau Term Expires 02/2021 Phone: 303-718-4284

Listen to the latest P&Z meeting


November 5, 2019
September 3, 2019
August 6, 2019
June 18, 2019
June 4, 2019
May 7, 2019
April 2, 2019
March 5, 2019
January 8, 2019


December 4, 2018
October 16, 2018
September 4, 2018
August 7, 2018

June 5, 2018

April 3, 2018
March 6, 2018
January 16, 2018


December 5, 2017
November 7, 2017
August 29, 2017
July 18, 2017 - End of Admin Report to Adjourn
May 2, 2017
April 18, 2017 Special Meeting
April 4, 2017
February 7, 2017

HTML5 Powered with Device Access, and MultimediaGet Flash Player

City of Seward • P.O. Box 167, 410 Adams Street City Hall Building • Seward, Alaska 99664 • (907) 224-3331
Home Home  |  Email Page Email Page  | Print Page Print  |  Calendar  |  FAQs  |  Contact Us  |  Accessibility  |  Site Map |  Renewable Energy Windpowered | Powered by CivicPlus  | Copyright Notices